AFC Bridgnorth vs Tividale

West Midland Regional League Premier Division
19th April 2018
Score: 1 : 4

Match Report

West Midland Regional League

Premier Division

Thursday 19th April 2018

AFC Bridgnorth 1-4 Tividale


AFC bridged as Tivi finish strong


Despite making 6 changes to the side that beat Hereford Lads Club 48 hours before. Tividale overcame not only the famous Bridgnorth slope but a dogged home side to extend their latest unbeaten run to 6 league games..
With it now being at least 3 games a week for the rest of the season, Manager Dave King rotated his squad once again. For this one he rested the Tividale Smithlets from the Hereford Lads Club win, Lee did not travel while Liam and Daniel were on the bench. He also named Karl Gardner and Chris Bladen to the bench and was missing keeper Ryan Cheshire due to work commitments.

In came youth team keeper Lewis Handley, Bradley Welding, Elliott Hartley, Joe Lawley, Liam Wilkinson and Demetri Brown. He also started with a 4-4-2 formation instead of the usual 5-3-2.

In complete contrast to the Hereford lads Club game. Tividale started the game superbly. Kicking against the bank a whipped in Elliott Hartley free kick on 5 minutes was headed home by Ben Birch for his first Tividale goal. Bridgnorth’s first attempt on goal was on 9 minutes when a Jason Pike free kick went straight into the arms of Handley. The visitors dominated the possession in the first half but were not able to add to the score sheet. While Bridgnorth although not getting a lot of the ball were quick to try and close down the play and with Pike and James Chetter in the home teams engine room, they always posed a threat going forward.

The two midfield players teemed up to bring the home sides equaliser on the half hour. Tividale were conceding some silly fouls around the edge of their box. Something that was always likely to cost them and from one of them a Pike’s delivery was headed home by Chetter.

Tividale nearly hit back on 34 minutes from a Hartley corner, Birch saw his headed effort cleared off the Bridgnorth line. Ryan Guryn then forced a brilliant save from Handley after he cut in from the right and unleashed a shot that the young keeper turned away for a corner.

On 40 minutes, Brown beat the home sides offside trap and raced in on goal only to be denied by a last ditch tackle as he tried to round the home keeper Stephen Groome. The ball then fell to Bustin but his shot curled away from the goal.

Half-time:- AFC Bridgnorth 1-1 Tividale


Playing down the hill and the ball holding up nicely due to the grass being long Tividale were all over the home side in the second half and were back ahead after 55 minutes when Brown attacked the right side of the Bridgnorth penalty area, cut the ball back for Curtis Cocking to drill the ball past Groome and into the back of the net.

A minute later and the visitors were awarded a penalty when Callum Hill who had been given the unenviable task of marking an in form Hartley, brought down the winger in the penalty area and Lawley sent the ball to the left as Groome dived to the right.

Bridgnorth were now under a constant siege as Tividale pressed for more. But to be fair to them they defended well and made sure that they did not just capitulate leaving the visitors to run up a cricket score.

Tividale did add another one to the score when Central defender Freddie Watts turned winger and put in a great cross from the left and substitute Chris Bladen volleyed the ball home for Tividale’s 4th.

Full Time:- AFC Bridgnorth 1-4 Tividale

Tividale:-1.Lewis Handley, 2. Tom Hurdman, 3. Bradley Welding, 4. Freddie Watts 5. Ben Birch, 6. Joe Lawley, 7. Elliott Hartley, 8. Curtis Cocking (17. Harvey Walker 65), 9. Demetri Brown (14. Chris Bladen 75), 10. Darragh Bustin (12. Tyree Clarke 78), 11. Liam Wilkinson.

Unused Subs:-15. Dan Smith, 16. Liam Smith


9. Demetri Brown
2. Tom Hurdman
12. Frederick Watts
3. Darragh Bustin
8. Liam Wilkinson
7. Elliott Hartley
24. Lewis Handley
16. Bradley Welding
4. Curtis CockingGoal
Joseph LawleyGoal
17. Benjamin BirchGoal


14. Liam Smith
10. Daniel Smith
19. Harvey WalkerSub4
Chris BladenGoalSub9
15. Tyree ClarkeSub3