Paget Rangers vs Tividale

J W Hunt Cup 2nd Round
9th January 2018
Score: 1 : 0

Match Report

JW Hunt Cup

2nd Round

Tuesday 9th January 2018

Paget Rangers 1-0 Tividale

Paget pick Tividale’s pockets


There will always be games like this at any level of football and over the years we have been on the other end of these sort of results. So we cannot complain.

It could be said that after a two and a half week break, a charity cup tie on a 3G pitch would possibly be the ideal way of easing your way back into competitive football. But you would not have known the lad’s had not played for 17 days as they were superb all over the park and a couple of goals would have really topped off the performance.

The bottom line is if you don’t take your chances these results have a habit of happening.

Manager Dave King asked the versatile Joe Colley to fill in at right back for the suspended Tom Hurdman as he went for a 4-3-3 line up. Other changes were Luke Kriskinans between the sticks for the unavailable Ryan Cheshire and Freddie Watts in for the injured Liam Smith.

In a half that was void of any meaningful action, Tividale were the brightest starters and were unlucky not to go ahead when a Demetri Brown shot came back off the cross bar via a deflection off Paget keeper Josh Benton and Dan Smith failed to follow up on the rebound.

Benton was again on hand with 15 minutes to go of the half when he pulled out a great save to deny Smith

Half Time Paget Rangers 0-0 Tividale

The second half was only 5 minutes old when a Liam Wilkinson shot was pushed onto the post by Benton and Smith was on hand to fire home, only for it to be ruled out for offside. A decision that looked harsh at the time and watching it on the video Tividale could feel aggrieved.

Paget had a their first decent effort just before the hour mark when Ryan Conlon was given too much space to shoot, but he dragged his effort just wide.

Just like buses you wait for one and two come together. Kriskinans pulling off a fine save to deny Paget’s Tom Cullen two minutes later.

Tividale’s Smith had another effort chalked off on 65 minutes in what looked to be another tight decision when he was put through by Tyree Clarke and he found the back of the net with a left foot drive. On 69 minutes Benton again denied Smith with a great save. But better was to come with 15 minutes to go Brown played in Smith but again he was foiled by Benton not once but twice as he beat away his right foot shot and then saved Smith’s left foot follow up.

It was now all Tividale and you just felt that despite Benton and his defences heroics the goal had to come somehow and on 80 minutes it did… Paget.

From a Tividale corner Paget’s sub Dean Crowley broke on the counter and played a neat ball to Paget wide man Fortuna Sibanda he then faced up to Tividale defender Karl Gardner, went outside of him and fired a shot that beat Kriskinans at his near post and found the back of the net.

Tividale came storming back and from a Darragh Bustin cross, Nathan Jones met the ball on the volley from 8 yards out, only to be denied by Benton at point blank range.

Now deep into injury time Tividale were given what looked to be a lifeline. Smith went racing through and Benton was adjudged to have brought him down in the box. Smith stepped up to take the penalty and you guessed it Benton not only saved his penalty kick but was up to save Smith’s shot from the rebound in what was the last kick of the game.

We can only admire Paget for battling it out and snatching a late winner.

Good luck to them in the next round

But we will go again at the weekend

Full Time Paget Rangers 1-0 Tividale


Tividale:-1.Luke Kriskinans, 2. Joe Colley, 3. Darragh Bustin, 4. Karl Gardner , 5. Freddie Watts, 6. Joe Lawley (12. Daniel Bryson), 7. Liam Wilkinson, 8. Curtis Cocking (14. Elliott Hartley), 9. Tyree Clarke (15. Nathan Jones) 10. Daniel Smith, 11.Demetri Brown.

Unused Subs:-.16.Harvey Walker, 17. Bradley Welding


9. Demetri Brown
Luke Kriskinans
12. Frederick Watts
5. Karl Gardner
3. Darragh Bustin
8. Liam Wilkinson
10. Daniel Smith
4. Curtis Cocking
15. Tyree Clarke
Joseph Lawley
Joe Colley


Nathan JonesSub15
7. Elliott HartleySub4
18. Daniel BrysonSub