Smethwick vs Tividale

West Midland Regional League Premier Division
4th August 2018
Score: 0 : 5

Match Report

West Midland Regional League

Premier Division

Saturday 4th August 2018

Smethwick Rangers 0-5 Tividale

Tividale go nap at Smethwick


On a red hot day on a difficult pitch. Tividale opened their WMRL Premier League campaign with a workmanlike win against a Smethwick side that also suffered with the condition’s underfoot.

Tividale started very nervously and although Smethwick were mainly on the back foot they were never really troubled and it took a piece of good fortune for Tividale to go ahead on 21 minutes, when a Bradley Welding shot was thumped into the ground and it sailed over Smethwick keeper Joshua Cooper. The goal settled Tividale down and they doubled their lead on 40 minutes, when Dan Smith dived in to head home a Demetri Brown cross

Half Time:- Smethwick 0-2 Tividale

The second half started as the first with both teams trying to play football but it was Tividale who made the most of the conditions. It was not until the 70th minute when the visitors made the game safe when substitute Tyree Clarke laid the ball off to Brown and he curled a beauty with the outside of his right foot straight into the top corner. This description does not give it justice. Just watch the video (10 minutes in).

Tividale added two further headed goals. First Brown heading home a Rion Francis-Mills cross on 80 minutes and then Clarke rose above the Smethwick defence to power home a Welding cross to finish the scoring.

Full Time:- Smethwick 0-5 Tividale

Tividale:-1. Ryan Cheshire, 2. Bradley Welding, 3. Darragh Bustin, 4. Ben Birch (12. Tom Hurdman 84), 5. Dan Bryson, 6. Matt Hunt, 7. Curtis Cocking, 8. Liam Wilkinson (16. Rio Francis-Mills 77), 9. Dan Smith (17. Tyree Clarke 68), 10. Demetri Brown, 11. Lee Smith

Unused Subs:-14. Karl Gardner, 15. Callum Nimmo


9. Demetri BrownGoalGoal
3. Darragh Bustin
8. Liam Wilkinson
10. Daniel SmithGoal
22. Matthew Hunt
16. Bradley WeldingGoal
4. Curtis Cocking
18. Daniel Bryson
1. Ryan Cheshire
11. Lee Smith
17. Benjamin Birch


2. Tom HurdmanSub17
15. Tyree ClarkeGoalSub10
21. Rion Francis-MillsSub8